Missed a GLP-1 dose: what each label instructs
There is no single GLP-1 missed-dose rule. Of the four labels, one gives 5 days, two give 4 days and one gives no window at all and writes the instruction against the next scheduled dose instead. The four instructions are printed below, each from the label that issues it, in the label’s own words.
Reviewed by Ellis Brandt. Sources checked September 2026.
This guide draws on the cited FDA-approved prescribing information and other FDA sources. It is not medical advice; discuss treatment with your clinician. See the medical disclaimer.
The four instructions
Drag the table sideways to read the remaining columns.
| Label | What the label instructs | Minimum gap when the injection day changes |
|---|---|---|
| Ozempic | Administer as soon as possible within 5 days after the missed dose. If more than 5 days have passed, skip the missed dose and administer the next dose on the regularly scheduled day. | At least 2 days, stated as more than 48 hours |
| Wegovy injection | If the next scheduled dose is more than 2 days away, administer as soon as possible. If it is less than 2 days away, do not administer the missed dose and resume on the regularly scheduled day. | Not stated in these terms on this label |
| Mounjaro | Administer as soon as possible within 4 days (96 hours) after the missed dose. If more than 4 days have passed, skip the missed dose and administer the next dose on the regularly scheduled day. | At least 3 days, stated as 72 hours |
| Zepbound | Administer as soon as possible within 4 days (96 hours) after the missed dose. If more than 4 days have passed, skip the missed dose and administer the next dose on the regularly scheduled day. | At least 3 days, stated as 72 hours |
The last column is a separate rule from the missed-dose rule and is easy to conflate with it. It governs deliberately moving the weekly injection day, not recovering a dose that was forgotten.
State a fixed recovery window after a forgotten dose
3 of 4 — 1 writes the rule against the next scheduled dose instead
State a minimum gap when the injection day is deliberately moved
3 of 4 — 1 does not state it in these terms
State what to do after a run of consecutive missed doses
1 of 4 — 3 give a single-dose rule and no re-escalation threshold
Counted from the dosage and administration section of each of the 4 FDA-approved labels, read September 2026 — the same reading the tables on this page are built from. The track is all 4 labels; the gap is the labels that do not state that rule. An absence is an absence from that document, not permission to apply another product’s rule to it.
More than one missed dose
Only one of the four labels says what to do after a run of missed doses. Wegovy: “If 2 or more consecutive doses of WEGOVY injection are missed, reinitiate dosage escalation at a lower dosage to reduce the risk of gastrointestinal adverse reactions”.
Drag the table sideways to read the remaining columns.
| Label | Rule after consecutive missed doses |
|---|---|
| Wegovy injection | Reinitiate dosage escalation at a lower dosage after 2 or more consecutive missed doses. |
| Ozempic | No rule. This label gives an instruction for one missed dose and sets no threshold for restarting the escalation. |
| Mounjaro | No rule. This label gives an instruction for one missed dose and sets no threshold for restarting the escalation. |
| Zepbound | No rule. This label gives an instruction for one missed dose and sets no threshold for restarting the escalation. |
Three of the four labels leave that open, and the silence is itself the answer they give: after a run of missed doses on Ozempic, Mounjaro or Zepbound, what to do next is a question for the prescriber. Wegovy’s rule is not carried across to a different molecule here.
The oral forms have their own rule
Wegovy’s label also covers a tablet, taken once daily rather than once weekly, and its missed-dose instruction is different again and much simpler: “If a dose of WEGOVY tablets is missed, skip the missed dose and take the next dose the following day.” A daily product has no five-day window to give.
Sources
Drag the table sideways to read the remaining columns.
| Label | Applicant on the label | SPL version | Label effective date | Where it was read |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ozempic (semaglutide) | Novo Nordisk Pharmaceutical Industries, LP | 20 | 2026-06-01 | DailyMed, set id adec4fd2-6858-4c99-91d4-531f5f2a2d79 |
| Wegovy (semaglutide) | Novo Nordisk Pharmaceutical Industries, LP | 19 | 2026-06-18 | DailyMed, set id ee06186f-2aa3-4990-a760-757579d8f77b |
| Mounjaro (tirzepatide) | Eli Lilly and Company | 40 | 2026-08-27 | DailyMed, set id d2d7da5d-ad07-4228-955f-cf7e355c8cc0 |
| Zepbound (tirzepatide) | Eli Lilly and Company | 40 | 2026-08-28 | DailyMed, set id 487cd7e7-434c-4925-99fa-aa80b1cc776b |
Every figure and quotation comes from the label’s own tables and text. Each label is the FDA-approved version that was current when it was read in September 2026, identified in the table by its version number and effective date.
Related, and read from the same four documents: the dose escalation schedules and what each label reports for side effects. For tirzepatide, the instructions that come with the pen are quoted on where and how to inject it.
See the providers
Whether a missed dose matters at all is a question for the prescriber you have. The boards on this site do not score prescribers — they score what a provider publishes about its price, its dispensing pharmacy, what the price covers and how to cancel. That is a different question, and it is the one they answer.
- Semaglutide providersprovider board
Compare semaglutide plans, pharmacy details and cancellation terms.
- Tirzepatide providersprovider board
Compare tirzepatide plans, pharmacy details and cancellation terms.
More, read from the same labels
- First-year GLP-1 costsresearch guide
A low monthly headline does not tell you what a year of treatment will cost. Compare the same medication and service package, then separate the total you expect to spend from the amount you must pay before treatment begins.
- Cancellation and refundsresearch guide
Canceling future membership charges, stopping an upcoming medication order and requesting a refund are three different requests. Get a written answer for each one that applies to you.
- Insurance denial documentsresearch guide
The next step depends on why coverage was denied. A missing document, a formulary restriction and an excluded benefit are different problems. Start with the written decision before paying someone to submit another request.
- Savings and cash-pay eligibilityresearch guide
A manufacturer savings card and a self-pay offer can have different eligibility rules, even for the same medicine. Match the offer to your coverage and exact product before using its advertised price in your budget.
- Verify your GLP-1 pharmacyresearch guide
The website taking your payment, the clinician prescribing and the pharmacy dispensing may be different businesses. Identify each one. A recognizable brand or a reassuring badge does not tell you who will fill the prescription.
- Changing GLP-1 providersresearch guide
Before ending your current service, establish what the new practice needs, what it will charge and when it can evaluate you. Transferring your records does not guarantee that another clinician will continue the same prescription.
- Weight regain after stoppingresearch guide
Weight regain occurred after treatment withdrawal in studies of semaglutide and tirzepatide. The findings support planning follow-up and affordability before an interruption, but they do not predict exactly what will happen to one person.
- Semaglutide vs tirzepatideresearch guide
What the four FDA-approved labels say each molecule is, what each is approved to treat, and where the two differ.
- How they workresearch guide
The receptor each molecule switches on, what the labels say that does to appetite, blood sugar and the stomach, and why one dose lasts a week.
- Is Ozempic insulin?research guide
What the Ozempic label calls semaglutide, how that differs from insulin, and where insulin appears on these labels as a separate medicine.
- Zepbound vs Ozempicresearch guide
Four brand names, two molecules and two kinds of approval: which of these products are the same drug, and what each one is actually approved to do.
- Dose escalation schedulesresearch guide
The starting dose, the escalation interval and the maximum dose each label sets, and why they are not interchangeable.
- Side effect ratesresearch guide
What each label reports for nausea, vomiting, diarrhea and constipation — and the sentence every label prints above those numbers.
- Hair lossresearch guide
Which labels report hair loss, the rate against placebo where a trial measured it, and why two of them put no number on it.
- Fatigue and tirednessresearch guide
Which labels list fatigue, the rate against placebo where a trial measured it, and what each label counts as fatigue.
- Drug interactionsresearch guide
Insulin and sulfonylureas, oral medications, and the oral-contraceptive precaution that appears on two of these four labels and not the other two.
- Buying one onlineresearch guide
The agency's own warning signs for a telehealth GLP-1 seller, its 28-day vial rule, and what it says about drugs that arrive warm.
- Zepbound by doseresearch guide
What each Zepbound dose achieved in the trials printed in its label, what the label says about choosing a maintenance dose, and what the higher doses cost in side effects.
- Zepbound at 3 monthsresearch guide
What does the Zepbound label report about three-month weight loss and maintenance dosing?
- Injecting tirzepatideresearch guide
The injection sites, the rotation rule and the steps for the single-dose pen, the KwikPen and the vial and syringe, exactly as the FDA-approved Instructions for Use give them.
- Refrigeration and storageresearch guide
How cold each pen is kept, how many days it can spend at room temperature, and what the labels say about heat and freezing.
- Who should not take oneresearch guide
The boxed warning every one of these labels carries, the two contraindications, and which warnings appear on which product.
The four windows
| Ozempic | within 5 days |
|---|---|
| Wegovy injection | no window stated |
| Mounjaro | within 4 days |
| Zepbound | within 4 days |
Read September 2026. The full instruction for each is on this page; the summary above is not a substitute for it.